September 10, 2014

TWF wins 2014 Steve Patterson Award for Excellence in Sports Philanthropy

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) announced the Tiger Woods Foundation as a recipient of the 2014 Steve Patterson Award for Excellence in Sports Philanthropy. The foundation will be honored at the RWJF ceremony in Princeton, New Jersey, on Sept. 18.

The Patterson Award, which will celebrate its 10th anniversary in 2014, was established in 2005 by the RWJF in honor of the late Steve Patterson, a distinguished UCLA basketball star, NBA player and Arizona State basketball coach. Patterson’s belief in the practice of using the power of sports philanthropy to make a difference in various communities inspired the creation of this award.

“We are honored to celebrate the Tiger Woods Foundation, an organization giving back to its communities and inspiring others to build a culture of health,” said Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, MD, MBA, president and CEO of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Tiger Woods FoundationIndividual Athletes and Professional Coaches category winner

The Tiger Woods Foundation was recognized as the 2014 Individual Athletes and Professional Coaches category winner. Founded by Tiger Woods, the Tiger Woods Foundation has affected millions of students by providing advanced educational opportunities with a focus on STEM education. Of the foundation’s numerous initiatives, one of its flagship programs, the Tiger Woods Learning Center, provides scholars in grades 5-12 with college-access programs focused on science, technology, engineering and math. Interactive classes allow these students to identify the importance of attending college and exploring potential careers.

Through the Earl Woods Scholarship Program, students receive a $5,000 scholarship, which is renewable for up to four years, as well as a dedicated mentor. Specialized internships are available to students in the program, which help prepare them for life after college. Since 2005, the foundation has distributed more than $80 million, and an astounding 100 percent of Earl Woods Scholarship Program students have graduated with a bachelor’s degree.

“It is an honor to receive the Steve Patterson Award from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. We believe we can break the cycle of poverty through education, and receiving this award helps us spread awareness of our mission even further,” Woods said. “I’m so proud of our staff and supporters, and we look forward to making a difference in the lives of so many students and their families to come.”

Previous Patterson Award winners:
• Philadelphia Eagles Youth Partnership (2005)
• Jacksonville Jaguars Foundation (2006)
• Memphis Grizzlies Charitable Foundation (2007)
• The Moyer Foundation (2007)
• San Francisco Giants Community Fund (2008)
• Steve Nash Foundation (2008)
• Marvin Lewis Community Fund (2009)
• Red Sox Foundation (2009)
• Dikembe Mutombo Foundation (2010)
• U.S. Soccer Foundation (2010)
• Cincinnati Reds Community Fund (2011)
• Brian Griese and Judi’s House (2011)
• Chicago White Sox (2012)
• Notah Begay III Foundation (2012)
• Women’s Sports Foundation (2012)
• San Francisco 49ers (2013)
• Tony Hawk Foundation (2013)
• LA84 Foundation (2013)
Please visit or contact Meredith Geisler at or (703) 740-5015 for more information on the Patterson Award and its 2014 winners or for media requests.