October 16, 2015

The history of the Hero World Challenge

The Hero World Challenge has a rich history of incredible champions, stunning scenery and philanthropy. The 17th annual Hero World Challenge will take place at Albany in the Bahamas with 18 of the world’s best golfers playing 72 holes, Dec. 3-6. Albany is a luxury resort community in The Bahamas owned by Tavistock Group, Tiger Woods and Ernie Els. The World Challenge is hosted by five-time champion Tiger and benefits the Tiger Woods Foundation, Tavistock Foundation and the Albany Scholars Program. 


From 1999 through 2007, the event was composed of 16 golfers. In 2008, the field increased to 18 golfers, as it was the first year-end PGA TOUR event to award Official World Golf Ranking points. The field each year includes the champions of the year’s four majors, the top 11 available players in the world rankings, the defending champion of the Hero World Challenge and two special exemptions chosen by the Tiger Woods Foundation. Tom Lehman came away the champion in the inaugural year of 1999. In 2011, Tiger defeated Zach Johnson by one shot, becoming the event’s first five-time champion. Jordan Spieth is the current defending champion.

Flags of multiple countries fly above the leaderboard at the Hero World Challenge

Official names and broadcast partners

Over the 16-year history of the event, the World Challenge has gone by a few different names: Williams World Challenge, Target World Challenge, Chevron World Challenge, Northwestern Mutual Challenge and, since 2014, the Hero World Challenge. The event has been covered nationally by the following television stations: USA Network, NBC Sports, USA, ABC Sports, Golf Channel and NBC, showing the world’s top golfers compete at some of the world’s top golf destinations. 

One of four golf courses used during the history of the Hero World Challenge

Hero World Challenge host courses

1999: Grawhawk Golf Course; Scottsdale, Arizona
2000-2013: Sherwood Country Club; Thousand Oaks, California
2014: Isleworth Golf & Country Club; Windermere, Florida
2015: Albany; New Providence, Bahamas

Past champions

2014: Jordan Spieth
2013: Zach Johnson
2012: Graeme McDowell
2011: Tiger Woods
2010: Graeme McDowell
2009: Jim Furyk
2008: Vijay Singh
2007: Tiger Woods
2006: Tiger Woods 
2005: Luke Donald
2004: Tiger Woods
2003: Davis Love III
2002: Padraig Harrington
2001: Tiger Woods
2000: Davis Love III
1999: Tom Lehman

View of Albany, New Providence, Bahamas

As the Hero World Challenge makes its way to The Bahamas with 18 elite players, four rounds of exciting golf and one legendary host, the world can expect an unforgettable golf experience. Learn more about how you can be a part of the event.