May 14, 2012

Woods commits to six upcoming tournaments

Tiger Woods has committed to six upcoming tournaments, he announced Monday.

He will play in the Memorial Tournament, May 31-June 3, at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio; the U.S. Open, June 14-17, at the Olympic Club in San Francisco; the AT&T National, June 28-July 1, at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Md.; The Greenbrier Classic, July 5-8, at The Greenbrier Resort in White Sulphur Springs, W. Va.; The Open Championship, July 19-22, at Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club in Lytham St. Annes, Lancashire, England; and the World Golf Championships-Bridgestone Invitational, Aug. 2-5, at Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio.

Woods, coming off a tie for 40th last Sunday at THE PLAYERS Championship, has one PGA Tour victory this year. That came March 25 at the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill Club in Orlando, Fla.

Woods has good history at Memorial, having won in 1999, 2000, 2001 and 2009. He’s also done well at the U.S. Open, having claimed titles in 2000 at Pebble Beach Golf Links in Pebble Beach, Calif.; 2003 at Bethpage State Park in Farmingdale, N.Y.; and 2008 at Torrey Pines Golf Course near San Diego.

Woods serves as host of the AT&T National, which returns to Congressional this year after a two-year stint at Aronimink Golf Club outside Philadelphia. The winner in 2009, he shares the tournament record of 267 with Nick Watney.

Woods has captured The Open Championship three times — in 2000 at the Old Course at St. Andrews by eight strokes; at St. Andrews in 2005; and at Royal Liverpool Golf Club in 2006.

Although Tiger will be making his first appearance at The Greenbrier Classic, he is no stranger to Firestone Country Club. Woods has won the WGC-Bridgestone seven times, most recently in 2009. He holds the tournament record of 259, set in 2000, and shares the South Course record of 61 with Jose Maria Olazabal.

“I’m excited about my schedule and looking forward to competing,” said Woods, winner of 72 PGA Tour titles and 14 major championships.